Mission
Collect, preserve, and interpret Island County's rich and unique cultural heritage and history.
Land Acknowledgement
The Island County Historical Society is on the ancestral homelands of the Lower Skagit, sduhubš (Snohomish), and kikiyalus (Kikiallus) Peoples, who have lived on Tscha-kole-chy (Whidbey Island) and Camano since time immemorial. We currently occupy and share this sacred land through the Treaty of Point Elliott signed by 82 tribes in Múckl-te-óh on January 22, 1855. We acknowledge the Traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders, both past and present, and are grateful for their relationship with this land that they have stewarded for future generations. We pledge to continue listening to and uplifting the voices of the first people who were here and to remain mindful of their ways of being that continue to enrich our community.
Our Story
The Island County Historical Society was organized in 1949 in an attempt to save the Lovejoy Victorian Courthouse (built in 1891). Their hope was to create a museum to preserve and protect the artifacts, culture, and history of Island County. Despite these efforts, the Lovejoy Courthouse was declared unsafe and demolished. In 1958, the Historical Society explored the possibility of a museum in the abandoned Admiralty Head Lighthouse.
At the time, the lighthouse was in great need of repair. Fortunately, the State took over its repair and has restored and preserved this historic building and it now houses a museum of its own. In 1963 the Historical Society opened its first museum in a small building donated by the General Telephone Company on the corner of Coveland and Main Street, Coupeville.
The museum was run and maintained by volunteers for five years before moving to a larger facility provided by by the Town of Coupeville. The former Fire Hall on Alexander Street served well as our museum from 1971-1991.
The ICHS museum outgrew its cramped quarters, and as part of our State's Centennial, a capital campaign was launched in 1989 to construct our current museum building. The new ICHS museum was built on the site of the former 1868 Blockhouse Inn, adjacent to the historic Alexander's Blockhouse, and a long shed housing several Indigenous canoes.
The museum, opened in 1991, reflects the size and basic feel of the old Inn that tragically burnt in 1968, and now serves as a focal point and landmark on the waterfront of historic downtown Coupeville. A traditional wraparound porch and a drought-tolerant garden provide opportunities for unique outdoor programming.
Financial Transparency
Our museum is a nonprofit institution dedicated to preserving, interpreting, and sharing history, art, and culture for the education and enrichment of our community. Through engaging exhibitions, educational programs, and collections care, we strive to inspire curiosity and lifelong learning for visitors of all ages. We are committed to transparency, responsible stewardship, and public trust. As part of this commitment, our most recent IRS Form 990 and our 2026 Annual Report are available for public review and outline how we support our mission and manage our resources.
Our Staff and Board
Volunteer
Our Sponsors and Community Partners
Contact us.
Museum and Archive
908 NW Alexander St || PO Box 305
Coupeville, WA 98239
(360) 678-3310
Administrator: admin-ichs@whidbey.net
Archivist + Collections Manager: arc-ichs@whidbey.net
Executive Director: ed-ichs@whidbey.net